Maggie Wheeler

As the Seaway Valley’s Queen of Crime, Maggie Wheeler has spent over 15 years showcasing the social, cultural and psychological impact of the St. Lawrence Seaway and Power Project on Canadians affected. She is the author of the best-selling “Lost Villages” historical murder mystery series, which has garnered a nomination for the Ontario Premier’s Awards for the Arts, an Ontario Provincial Hansard, and the “people’s choice” Seeker’s Award for Literary Artist of the Year 2013. The series has been used to teach English and history from intermediate to post-secondary levels in Eastern Ontario and Upper New York State.

Since 2001, her work with the Seaway history has kept Maggie on the public speaking circuit and in the media at local, regional, national and academic levels. Her most recent contribution is the “Lost Villages” article for Historica Canada’s The Canadian Encyclopedia—the official national online resource for all things Canadiana.

Maggie recently launched her fifth Lost Villages novel, All My Worldly Goods, researched and written with the generous support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

In January of 2017, Maggie was named Ottawa’s Favourite Female Author by FACES Magazine Annual Awards—and is again nominated for the award for 2018.

Find out more at

Maggie Wheeler’s Titles:

All My Worldly Goods
A Violent End
The Brother of Sleep
All Mortal Things
On a Darkling Plain

  • Posted by Administrator
  • on June 14, 2015
Read More
  1. Eileen Hare Reply

    Will the new book be available as a kindle ebook?

    • Tiffany Yemen Reply

      Hi there! Yes Maggie Wheeler’s new book will be available as an ebook by the end of the month!

Leave a Reply